Ben and Barry's Blog

Friday, January 1, 2010

Future Film Reviews - 2010 Onwards

All our future films reviews from 2010 onwards are continued on our new blog http://www.benandbarry.com

Labels:

Tuesday, December 30, 2008

Yes Man Film Review

After the disaster that was Inkheart, we were quite relieved not to be too annoyed by Jim Carey. "Yes Man" is the story of a guy stuck in a rut, who avoids parties and friends just because he can't be bothered. After going to a "Yes" conference, he must say yes to everything he is asked to do, which sends him on some wild and whacky anticts. A silly, yet enjoyable film, which brought a few smiles to our faces.

Ben 7 out of 10
Barry 6 out of 10

http://yesisthenewno.warnerbros.com/

Labels:

Inkheart Film Review

Blimey, Brendan Fraser has made another stinker in choosing to star in this film. Another kids book that seems to have been converted with very little imagination, like the Golden Compass before it. Lots of trudging around again, with lots of boring monologues and absolutely nothing of interest happening until the very end. You'd think that a film with a cast that can bring anything to life out of the books they read would be interesting, imaginative and exciting, but you'd be wrong!! Bedtime Stories is by far the better of the two films, but that's not saying much!

Ben 3 out of 10
Barry 3 out 10

http://www.inkheartmovie.com/

Labels:

Monday, December 29, 2008

Twilight Film Review

So much potential in this film including vampires, wolves and love, yet nothing ever really gets going! You have the pretty one from Harry Potter playing the lead vampire in a family of "vegetarian" vampires, falling in love with a pouty girl, who is then chased by some rival vampires. However this all sounds exciting, but not once do you see a single fang, some real vampire neck biting, or any real development of the love story, in fact Barry almost dozed off! We should have realised from the 12A certificate that its wasn't going to be bloody. Its done very well at the box office, although I have no idea why, and a sequel is already in the works! But we say avoid!!

Ben 4 out of 10
Barry 4 out of 10

http://www.twilightthemovie.com/

Labels:

Sunday, December 28, 2008

Bedtime Stories Film Review

A tale of Disney magic and template story telling. Boy grows up in dad's hotel, dreams of running it one day, but ends up being the janitor, then through twists and turns gets the chance again at running the place. Add to that the bedtime story telling, when Adam Sandler creates stories for his niece and nephew, but the magic is added by the additions the kids make to the stories including raining gum balls, rescuing maidens in distress and being incinerated!! The potential was there for this to be a great family film, but it went a little bit too kiddy.

Ben 6 out 10
Barry 6 out of 10

http://www.disney.co.uk/bedtimestories

Labels:

Sunday, December 14, 2008

Day the Earth Stood Still Film Review

Remake of the old classic casting Keanu "Bill & Ted" Reeves in the lead role. He doesn't really put dread in your heart, and the story doesn't seem to move along at much of a pace. The CGI Gort and action sequences pump the action up a bit, but the not so hidden message of we're destroying the world was much, much better done in Wall-E!

Ben 6 out of 10
Barry 6 out of 10

http://thedaytheearthstoodstillmovie.com/

Labels:

Sunday, December 07, 2008

Transporter 3 Film Review

After the disappointing second entry, this takes it backs to roots, ditches the crazy gun lady and cranks back up the action with Jason. There are some excellent coreographed fights and some great car chases and stunts. Yet again the pace is slowed slighty by the rather drippy lady sidekick, which is a shame, as otherwise this would have been a nice slice-o-action film.

Ben 7 out 10
Barry 9 out of 10

http://transporter3film.com/

Labels:

Lakeview Terrace Film Review

A very slow burning sinister creep-you-out film, with a very unnerving neighbour played by Samuel L. Jackson. The pace dragged a little half way through and could have been done with being chopped by 30mins, but other than that a very entertaining twisting story of American suburbia.

Ben 6 out of 10
Barry 6 out of 10

http://www.lakeviewterracemovie.com/

Labels:

Saturday, November 15, 2008

Quantum of Solace Film Review

Another gritty follow-up film to Casino Royale. If you didn't see Royale you maybe a bit lost, we saw it and were still a bit confused as to what was going on! Daniel Craig is still a good Bond and there are loads of action sequences, just the weak Bond Girl and rather puny Bill-Gates-a-Like bady let the side down.

Ben 6 out of 10
Barry 5 out of 10

http://www.007.com/

Labels: ,

Tuesday, November 11, 2008

Madagascar Escape 2 Africa Film Review

Alex and co. want to return to New York, so with the help of King "Freaks!" Julian, they repair the crashed plane with a new bamboo engine! Needless to say it doesn't all turn out OK and they crash land in Africa, where Alex meets up with his long lost father and has to prove himself King of the Pride. A fairly safe, yet enjoyable follow-up to the original, with lots of laughs along the way. The penguins are back (but we don't much care for them), but also the monkeys and Marv!

Ben 7 out 10
Barry 7 out of 10

http://www.madagascar-themovie.com/

Labels: ,

Tuesday, November 04, 2008

Max Payne Film Review

This is one video game to movie conversion too far. Load of old poop, avoid like the plague!

Ben 2 out of 10
Barry 4 out of 10

http://www.maxpaynethemovie.com/

Labels: ,

Saturday, October 18, 2008

Eagle Eye Film Review

Eagle Eye follows two strangers who have been "recruited" over the phone, through use of threats, to carry out seemingly impossible, ridiculous missions, but without knowing who is behind it. This film is very similar story to one we have seen before, who's name escapes me, but it moves along at a decent pace, with loads of action (with unfortunate wobble cam footage again). We went not knowing what to really expect, but thoroughly enjoyed this film.

Ben 7 out of 10
Barry 7 out of 10

http://www.eagleeyemovie.com

P.S. Note to Hollywood movie studios - please, please, please stop spending loads of money on special effects, only to be filmed millimeters from the action by some camera guy with jelly for arms. We miss the action, the wobble doesn't any excitement to the film, it simply makes you feel ill!!

Labels:

Tuesday, September 16, 2008

Death Race Film Review

We weren't expecting a deep story filled film with a title like "Death Race", but we were expecting a non-stop popcorn ride of blood and gore, and we weren't disappointed! Jason Statham (having beefed up for the role) takes the lead as "Frankenstein" and proceeds to drive everyone else to their deaths to gain his freedom from prison. And thats it, nothing else, just loads of action and stunts!

Ben 8 out of 10
Barry 9 out of 10

http://www.deathracemovie.net/

Labels: ,

Monday, September 15, 2008

Journey to the Centre of the Earth 3D Film Review

Having sat there cross-eyed for a while, we finally realised it was actually in 3D and we hadn't been given the glasses! Once the glasses were on the 3D effect was very evident, they didn;t do any obvious poke in the eye effects, but just a regular film in 3D. What is it with Hollywood and stupid use of mobile phones? They are abou 3 miles below the Earth's crust and trying to use their phones!! Apart from the stupidity the film plods along at an average pace and obvious story. Average at best.

Ben 5 out of 10
Barry 6 out of 10

http://www.journey3dmovie.com/

Labels: ,

Sunday, September 14, 2008

Tropic Thunder Film Review

Another Jack Black film we approached cautiously, however main lead Ben Stiller tends to be funnier. And this film was very, very funny. Basically Rambo gore, but a comedy! A very weird mix, but we both thoroughly enjoyed and laughed.


Ben 8 out of 10
Barry 7 out of 10

http://www.tropicthunder.com/

Labels: ,

Saturday, September 06, 2008

Disaster Movie Film Review


WARNING! Movie contents bit rude!

Well its raining and theres nothing else on at the cinema, so we decided to chance Disaster Movie. After all it spoofs this summer's movies and might be better than Meet the Spartans. While its not going to win any Oscars, it was mildly amusing and made us laugh in numerous places.

Ben 5 out of 10
Barry 7 out of 10

http://www.disastermovie.net/
http://www.somedaymyprincewillcome.com/

Labels:

Saturday, August 30, 2008

Babylon A.D. Film Review

The trailer for this film looked good, with mixed action, sci-fi story line and some good effects. The reviews however were mixed. I can now confirm that the film is indeed a bit poo! This is a rehash of Children of Men, end of the world stuff, smuggling a human to USA to be saviour of some new religion, which then just suddenly ends! So you've been watchin' it for ages, it ends with no real ending, now what? Poo!

Ben 4 out of 10
Barry 6 out of 10

http://www.babylonadmovie.com/

Labels:

Monday, August 25, 2008

You Don't Mess with the Zohan Film Review

We went to the cinema not expecting much from this on a rainy Sunday afternoon, but were thoroughly impressed with this film. It had a bit of action and lots of laughs.

Ben 7 out of 10
Barry 6 out of 10

Labels:

Saturday, August 23, 2008

Hellboy 2 Film Review

The characters were there. Big set pieces and CGI was there. Good story with lots of action was there. Yet something seemed to be missing. I don't know if it was the clockwork baddy of the first film, or the good back story and introduction. Luke Goss (from Bros!) seemed a wimpy bady, but it just seemed to be lacking that certain something. Don't get me wrong it wasn't a bad film, just not as good as the first.

Ben 8 out of 10
Barry 7 out of 10

http://www.hellboymovie.com/

Labels:

Sunday, August 17, 2008

Star Wars Clone Wars Film Review

Not quite sure why this came to the cinema, oh yes, can you say cash cow! Not as good as the prequels, nor the Cartoon Network specials. This should have really gone straight to DVD.

Ben 5 out of 10
Barry 4 out of 10

http://www.starwars.com/clonewars/

Labels:

Friday, August 15, 2008

Mummy 3: Tomb of the Dragon Emperor Film Review

Pretty much more from the same Mummy mould. Rachel Weiz gets replaced by someone, who does an equally annoying english accent, and is even more aggrevating than Weiz, which I thought was the whole point of replacing her in the first place! Anyway the story revolves around the terracota army and a curse on the Dragon Emperor. The usual CGI battle ensues, with Yetis thrown in for good measure and a race to the finish and final giant CGI scene. Full on popcorn movie, on par with the other 2 entries in the franchise.

Ben 7 out of 10
Barry 7 out of 10

http://www.themummy.com/

Labels:

Saturday, July 26, 2008

Dark Knight Film Review

There has been so much hype about this film and Heath Ledger I didn't want to get my hopes up too high, but it definitely lived upto the hype. The film was very dark, the Joker was twisted mentally not ha-ha funny and Two Face was just plain gory! Thoroughly enjoyed this film, but it was very slightly too long and they could have saved something for a carry over film.

Just a word of warning, this film is very gory. While you don't see any action/blood there are people being shop and cut. It also slightly glorifies knives. It should definitely not have been given a 12A certificate, it should have been a 15!

Ben 9 out 10
Barry 8 out 10

http://thedarkknight.warnerbros.com/

Labels:

Sunday, July 20, 2008

Kung Fu Panda Film Review

Dreamworks are trying to chase the Pixar dream. While the animation is upto scratch the story just doesn't match the depth of the competition. Also as Kung-Fu was the basis for the movie I was expecting a bit more action. Jack Black wasn't overly annoying and the supporting characters were good, especially Dustin Hofman as Shofu and whoever played the turtle.

Ben 7 out of 10
Barry 5 out of 10

http://www.kungfupanda.com/

Labels:

Saturday, July 19, 2008

Meet Dave Film Review

Based on Eddie Murphy's past films (although we did enjoy Norbit) we weren't expecting much from this, but wanted to have a film marathon this weekend. He plays a human size and looking spaceship full of small aliens who have come to Earth to steal the salt from our sea water to power their planet. Yes very far fetched, but obvious story in that he ends up changing his mind about humans. Entertaining and amusing, but not great.

Ben 7 out 10
Barry 7 out of 10

http://www.meetdavemovie.com/

Labels:

Friday, July 18, 2008

Wall-E Film Review

This film was absolutely superb! Pixar are back on form after the disappointing Cars. From the same director as Finding Nemo (it shows), this film brims with story and imagination. Disney/Pixar have also managed to keep the entire story secret, and the trailer entices without giving anything away.

Ben 10 out of 10
Barry 10 out of 10

http://disney.go.com/disneypictures/wall-e/

Labels:

Sunday, July 06, 2008

Hancock Film Review

The first trailer for this film didn't inspire, the second one looked much more promising. The film itself was very enjoyable, and unlike many films today managed to keep a large unexpected plot twist hidden. The story of a superhero who can't be bothered to be a superhero is new, he even goes to prison for damaging public property! I can't really say anymore otherwise it will spoil it, but needless to say the end is unexpected and slighlty sad.

Ben 8 out of 10
Barry 8 out of 10

http://www.sonypictures.co.uk/movies/hancock/

Labels:

Saturday, July 05, 2008

Prince Caspian Film Review

Ben 7 out of 10
Barry 7 out 10

Labels:

Friday, July 04, 2008

Wanted Film Review

The film starts out very well with a Matrix style powered-up assasination. Unfortunately you don't see this again! However the film isn't ruined by this and there are some bending bullet moments and great action sections. The story and action keeps coming and there are some great set pieces. This was a thoroughly enjoyable popcorn flick.

Ben 8 out of 10
Barry 7 out of 10

http://www.wantedmovie.com/

Labels:

Friday, June 20, 2008

Love Guru Film Review

On our final day, it was yet again grey, so while waiting for our flight we decided to go and see The Love Guru, the latest comedy from Mike Myers. The story is pretty forgettable, about a love guru who tries to get a hockey player back with his wife, so he can get on Oprah! The laughs do come, but not Austin Powers rate. This film is extremely similar to Austin Powers, but it simply wasn't as funny or amusing. The whole religious stink kicked up around this film will drive more people to see it, even though fairly offensive.

Ben 6 out of 10
Barry 6 out of 10

http://www.lovegurumovie.com/

Labels: ,

Sunday, June 15, 2008

The Incredible Hulk Film Review

It started out boiling hot today, we then popped to the mall for lunch and it all of a sudden went dark grey and started chucking it down and thundering, so we went to the cinema! The Incredible Hulk completely ignores the first rubbish Hulk film and starts fresh. It does the whole back story of how he became the Hulk in the credits (after all everyone knows!). The remainder of the film is about the US Army trying to track down Bruce Banner as they want the Hulk powers for super soldiers. The film keeps moving at a nice pace and there are loads of nods to the TV series. Very enjoyable, no brainer, popcorn film!

Ben 8 out of 10
Barry 8 out of 10

http://incrediblehulk.marvel.com/

Labels: ,

Friday, June 13, 2008

The Happening Film Review

After Toronto Island it went a bit grey, so cinema time The Happening starts out with very disturbing images of people dying mysteriously, theres no explanation apart from the typical American response of "its terrorists", to which the Canadian cinema laughed! The rest of the film keeps the mystery and tension going and is a very entertaining. However the end comes round quickly, and I'm not going to spoil it, but it literally does just stop, which is a shame, as with a bit more thought it could have had an excellent ending.

Ben 7 out of 10
Barry 6 out of 10

http://www.thehappeningmovie.com/

Labels: ,

Thursday, May 22, 2008

Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull Film Review

We got up really early (well 9am!) to see this film, hoping to avoid the crowds, but the cinema was still busy! Great story, great ation, Harrison still got it! They even managed to match the look and feel of the film to the old ones, and there were no stand out CGI momets like in Star Wars to ruin things. The only gripe was the ending was a bit silly an unnecessary. If they had just left the ending 10 minutes shorter, you could have just left it to your imagination.

Ben 9 out of 10
Barry 8 out of 10

http://www.indianajones.com/

Labels:

Thursday, May 15, 2008

Speed Racer Film Review

Drastically different film from the Matrix directors. Kid friendly racer based off Japanese manga. Average story and acting. Good CGI action sequences. Really obvious ending, with far too lengthly montage given to the goodies and about 5ns given to the badies and morals of the story! Enjoyable, but not great.

Ben 6 out of 10
Barry 6 out of 10

http://speedracerthemovie.warnerbros.com/

Labels:

Friday, May 09, 2008

Ironman Film Review

Well we weren't sure what to expect from this film, as bit of an unknown Marvel character to us, and also had Downey Jnr. in it. However the film was action packed, had a good story and was very enjoyable! The only few things that dragged were the multiple suit building montages (there were 3!), and having to look at Gwyneth "Wooden" Paltrow.

Ben 7 out of 10
Barry 7 out of 10

http://ironmanmovie.marvel.com/intl/uk/

Labels:

Saturday, March 22, 2008

Bank Job Film Review

Good story, if true. Nice pace, enjoyable movie.

Ben 7 out of 10
Barry 7 out of 10

http://www.bankjobmovie.co.uk/

Labels:

Monday, March 10, 2008

10,000 BC Film Review

Hmmm, we seem to be getting alot of these films recently. Girl falls in love with boy, girl kidnapped, boy follows girl, boy and girl reunited. This is basically the plot of 10,000 BC, except the film is quite a trudge. Theres a couple of exciting bits with the Wooly Mamoth hunt and dinosaurs in the jungle (both timeline incorrect!), but generally the film drags and is fairly slow.

Ben 5 out of 10
Barry 5 out of 10

http://www.10000bcmovie.com/

Labels: ,

Sunday, March 09, 2008

Vantage Point Film Review

Unfortunately the weather is a bit on/off at the moment. We snatched a couple of hours this morning before it clouded over again, so we're off to cinema again. This film is told from 8 people's point of view over the same time period. Its cleverly done, rewinding after each segment and switching views, each time adding a bit more story with twists and turns. The final person then cranks the action right up and brings the whole story to conclusion.


Ben 7 out of 10
Barry 7 out of 10

http://www.sonypictures.co.uk/movies/vantagepoint/

Labels: ,

Thursday, March 06, 2008

Be Kind Rewind Film Review

The idea behind this film is sound, ropey funny remakes of classic old films. It didn't matter how bad they were as you'd recognise them from their catch phrases. While it gets to these bits early on in the film, they are funny, but don't last long! It then gets back to Jack Black taking over the film in his usual overpowering and annoying way. The rest of the film is about Black making a film about a fictional jazz character. Remind me to avoid all Jack Black films in the future, as he's annoying and as untalented as Ricky Jervais!

Ben 3 out of 10
Barry 3 out of 10

Labels: ,

Monday, February 25, 2008

Rambo Film Review

Now don't get me wrong, war is a horrible affair, but I was right in the mood for this film! Loads of carnage, people being shot, blown up, eaten by pigs, etc...! Stallone doesn't say much for the whole film, but certainly ups the action stakes. A thoroughly bloody movie!

Ben 9 out of 10
Barry 8 out of 10

http://movies.break.com/rambo/

Labels:

Thursday, February 21, 2008

Bucket List Film Review

Good but very sad film.

Ben 8 out of 10
Barry 8 out of 10

Labels:

Friday, February 15, 2008

Jumper Film Review

A great premise. Missed opportunity as a movie. They could have done so much more with this film, and Hayden didn't help!

Ben 7 out of 10
Barry 6 out of 10

Labels:

Thursday, February 07, 2008

National Treasure 2: Books of Secrets Film Review

Better than the first one. Better story, action and pace. Very enjoyable.

Ben 8 out of 10
Barry 7 out of 10

Labels:

Saturday, February 02, 2008

Cloverfield Film Review

Don't believe the hype, its another Blair Witch! What is supposed to be people dealing with the emotions of a monster attack, turns into a wobble cam induced sea sickness ride. With the people doing the usual stupid things and running away from the monster. There are a couple of tense moments, but most of the time you'll be looking away from the screen trying not to throw up from the jerky camera!!

Ben 3 out of 10
Barry 4 out of 10

http://www.cloverfieldmovie.com/

Labels:

Thursday, January 24, 2008

Sweeney Todd Film Review

Already a winner of Golden Globes for Best Picture and Best Actor, we weren't entirely convinced by this film. The black and white style of the film was similar to Burton's past efforts and certainly makes the film look grim when the claret starts flowing, however it takes too long to get there. The music is very good, but you have to listen to the songs quite closely, especially as Carter doesn't sing them particularly well. All in all a good film, bit slow, entertaining, but not quite a good as we'd hoped.

Ben: 7 out of 10
Barry: 7 out of 10

http://www.sweeneytoddmovie.com/

Labels:

Friday, January 18, 2008

AVP-R Film Review

A different beast from the first film. Trying to be more gutsy and action packed, but sometimes also limping along. When the action comes its great, with numerous Alien/Predator face offs, but when its slow, rely on the unnamed actors is painful. Good, but still not good enough for these two great characters.

Ben: 7 out of 10
Barry: 8 out of 10

http://www.avp-r.com/

Labels:

Thursday, January 17, 2008

Beowulf IMAX 3D Film Review

Having already seen the film last year in boring old 2D and enjoyed it very much, it was a treat to see this on a gigantic screen with 14,000 watts of sound power and in 3D! The film still dragged in the same places, but the action and sweeping scenes were all magnificent. As the CGI characters were the size of 12 double decker buses you could also see how extremely detailed they were! Highly recommended and worth the trip to Waterloo!

Ben: 8 out of 10
Barry: 7 out of 10

http://www.beowulfmovie.com/

Labels:

Tuesday, January 15, 2008

Balls of Fury Film Review

No particular big names in this film, or names of comedy and its shows. Theres a few chuckles here and there, but on the whole very lame. Avoid.

Ben: 2 out of 10
Barry: 2 out of 10

http://www.ballsoffury.com/

Labels:

Tuesday, January 01, 2008

Film Reviews 2007

Have all been moved to our Film Reviews 2007 archive page.

Labels: