Ben and Barry's Blog

Friday, January 1, 2010

Future Film Reviews - 2010 Onwards

All our future films reviews from 2010 onwards are continued on our new blog http://www.benandbarry.com

Labels:

Monday, December 28, 2009

Sherlock Holmes Film Review

Good, but nowhere near as exciting as the trailer makes out. Pretty average Holmes story, but with a bigger budget. It takes a while to get going, but once it does it moves at quite a rapid pace. Story of dealings with "black magic", but actually illusion. Good flash backs and slow-mos of how they solve the mysteries and beat the badies. Don't know what really else to say, was expecting more, just finished and felt meh! They have obviously left it open for a sequel as there is endless talk of Moriarty.


Ben 7 out of 10
Barry 7 out of 10

http://sherlock-holmes-movie.warnerbros.com

Labels:

Thursday, December 17, 2009

Avatar 3D Film Review

Not sure why there was such a massive build up for this film as the story has been retread many times, one of forced relocating of the natives while a love story evolves. There was also much fuss over the 3D technology used, but again couldn't see anything remarkably different from other 3D films. However brush this aside, as the film as a whole is remarkable. The CGI really is true next gen, with scarily uncanny recreations of Sigourney Weaver and Sam Worthington as the blue Na'vi and great battle scenes towards the end of the film. You do really feel a connection to the CGI characters which probably make up 60% of the film. While the trailers make it look like a glorified video game in reality its a great story of the fight of the little people against humans ravaging their planet.

Ben 9 out of 10
Barry 8 out of 10

http://www.avatarmovie.com

Labels:

Thursday, December 10, 2009

The Box Film Review

The Box starts out as a very interesting mystery/thriller. Push a button, someone who you don't know dies and you get $1 million from a strange man with a burnt face! However things then start to go wrong, both for the films stars and also with the film itself. It wanders off into the weird and wonderful sci-fi fantasy, well it is directed by the guy who did Donnie Darko. The film ends well, but leaves a few untied ends, like the whole "why" and "what" the heck was that, on the sci-fi element. If they'd left that aspect out it would have still been a great thriller, so its a shame they felt the need to stick it in.

Ben 7 out of 10
Barry 7 out of 10

http://thebox-movie.warnerbros.com

Labels:

Tuesday, December 08, 2009

Planet 51 Film Review

Animated kid fodder from a new CGI studio. Quite a novel story where man lands on Planet 51 and becomes the alien invader. However its backed up by small star voices and average animation. It does offer a few chuckles, but nowhere near Dreamworks quality and miles and miles from Pixar!

Ben 6 out of 10
Barry 5 out of 10

http://www.planet51.com

Labels:

Monday, December 07, 2009

Law Abiding Citizen Film Review

Story of the good guy gone bad to overturn a corrupt justice system, which is more interested in keeping a perfect win score and making deals with criminals than actually putting them behind bars. What is an open and shut case of murder, turns into a long nail biting thriller, with you actually supporting the "bad" guy. Excellent film with excellent pace and action.

Ben 8 out of 10
Barry 8 out of 10

http://www.lawabidingcitizenfilm.com

Labels:

Tuesday, December 01, 2009

New Moon Film Review

This film is like watching paint dry! Heres a summary: 1 hour of moping around 'cos shes been dumped, 30 minutes of her imagining seeing him, 5 minutes werewolf action, 20 minutes umming and ahhing over whether she likes Edward or Jacob best, 5 minutes deciding she likes Edward. This is honestly one of THE MOST BORING films we have seen, and can't see the fascination with the film or books. The only saving grace is the werewolf fitties and brief action sections. Other than that its literally a film about her splitting up and moping around. You have no connection to the characters, the acting is wooden and I couldn't wait to leave the cinema.

Ben 2 out of 10
Barry 2 out of 10

http://www.twilightthemovie.com/

Labels:

Sunday, November 22, 2009

2012 Film Review

What a great disaster movie from the master of disaster Roland Emmerich! He literally destroys LA, Las Vegas, Washington and parts of China! No wobble cam in sight and very slow panning shots over the disasters, so that you can see every little CGI person dropping down the lava filled holes! It does get a bit tiresome at the beginning when the cast keeps managing to 'just' make it away from the disaster happening about 2ft behind them, but they truly are jaw dropping, so you don't mind. By the end of the film the story turns more to the human side and the end of Earth as we know it, with some good moral twists. A superb popcorn munching action movie!

Ben 9 out of 10
Barry 9 out of 10

http://www.whowillsurvive2012.com

Labels:

Friday, November 13, 2009

Up Film Review

What a superb, superb film! An emotional roller coaster, an animated film has never made us both cry twice! The opening story is intensely sad and the reason that Carl sets out on his journey. Meeting up with Russell the wilderness scout, Kevin the bird and Dug the dog along the way, it takes you through a huge range of emotions from touching to frightening. There are also some laugh out loud moments to lighten the load. On the whole the story is probably better that last years Wall-E, but the film does leave you feeling a bit drained at the end, so looses a point!

Ben 9 out of 10
Barry 9 out of 10

http://disney.go.com/disneypictures/up

Labels:

Saturday, November 07, 2009

Jennifer's Body Film Review

What happens when a rock band carries out a botched virgin sacrifice to the devil for fame and fortune on your non-virgin friend? Well she obviously doesn't die and the devil inhabits her body of course!! A slightly aboove average teen slasher romp propped up by Megan Fox and Amanda Seyfried. Ms. Fox basically goes around feeding on the boys and its upto "Needy" to stop her. Fairly average entertaining stuff.

Ben 7 out of 10
Barry 7 out of 10

http://www.jennifersbody.com/

Labels:

Sunday, September 27, 2009

Surrogates Film Review

Just when we thought the good summer films had ended, along comes the virtually non-advertised Surrogates! Bruce Willis stars in the futuristic story where people plug into life-like robots of themselves and go out into the world to face their boring daily lives. However the robots start getting murdered, and their operators also start dying, which shouldn't happen! A very startling story, warning of the future of mankind if it keeps heading down the MySpace/Facebook way of thinking, just chuck robots into the mix and you'll have all sorts of people pretending to be someone they're not.

Ben 8 out of 10
Barry 8 out of 10

http://chooseyoursurrogate.com/

Labels:

Monday, September 21, 2009

Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs 3D Film Review

A story of greed and over consumption, wrapped up in a kiddie CGI movie. A great story about a sleepy town thats lives off the income from sardines until the world realises that sardines don't actually taste very nice! They do however start coming as tourists to the island when a wacky inventor manages to make is rain any type of food!! But the food keeps coming, the town gets fatter and things start to go wrong. The 3D effect is excellent as ever and adds to the depth of the film.


Ben 7 out of 10
Barry 7 out of 10

http://www.cloudywithachanceofmeatballs.com/

Labels:

Sunday, September 20, 2009

District 9 Film Review

An alien occupation in South Africa, filmed as a real life documentary, with a little bit too much wobble cam. Its a story of racism and segregation between humans and aliens. After 20 years the humans get fed up with the alien camp at District 9 and want them moved 200 miles away to a new concentration camp. The underlying story is actually that of human greed and how we simply want to exploit the alien technology and weapons and make money out of governments willing to pay for them. A long film which drags in the middle and could do with 20mins being chopped off, but does get to a rather touching climax. More of a DVD job than cinema though, and like most film reviews we've seen it looks like you'll love/hate this film.

Ben 7 out of 10
Barry 5 out of 10

http://www.district9movie.com/

Labels:

Friday, September 18, 2009

Gamer Film Review

The premise is good, prisoners being controlled in real life online death matches, with rich people paying to control them. While the story has a good base, it doesn't seem to really get going and instead just turns into a story of corruption and plays out like on long video game. Theres some great action, and a Sims/Facebook mashup, again with rich people paying to take control of real people. Its a shame, as it could have been more.

Ben 6 out of 10
Barry 7 out of 10

http://www.gamerthemovie.com/

Labels:

Monday, September 14, 2009

Sorority Row Film Review

What starts out as revenge for a girl who gets cheated on by her university boyfriend, turns into a deadly prank when the boyfriend stabs the girl through the heart with a tyre iron when shes not really dead!! They then try and justify covering the whole thing up by chucking her down a mine shaft, only for her to rise again and revenge herself, or did she?? The whole story continues like a usual USA teen slasher, but is actually quite inventive with the way the killer stalks and kills their victim. Actually quite a good killing romp!

Ben 7 out of 10
Barry 6 out of 10

http://thetapi-ordie.com/

Labels:

Sunday, September 13, 2009

Dorian Gray Film Review

Based on the Oscar Wilde book of the same name. Dorian/Ben Barnes makes a deal with the devil, he swaps his soul for ever lasting youth. Mis-guided by Colin Firthe he lives a life of immorality, staying ever young, while his portrait ages and shows the evil twisted figure he has become. Nothing amazingly special about this film, bit slow in parts and felt slightly too long, but was well done and entertaining throughout.

Ben 7 out of 10
Barry 7 out of 10

http://www.doriangraymovie.co.uk/

Labels:

Friday, September 04, 2009

The Final Destination 3D Film Review

Better than 2, but not quite as good as 3. The usual avoiding the accident that sets the death trail in action, so death can catch up in order those it missed the first time round story. Some great over the top disasters, some great double takes. Throw in some top notch 3D death and it was a great cinema outing, maybe not so good when it comes to DVD.

Ben 7 out of 10
Barry 7 out of 10

http://www.thefinaldestinationmovie.com/

Labels:

Thursday, August 27, 2009

Dance Flick Film Review

Oh dear, the Wayan brothers really have completely run out of ideas for these films! Incredibly lame jokes, jokes that have been done in other films, and missed jokes, eg. the Hairspray girl doesn't actually do anything! The only reason they got our money was the fact that nothing else was on that we haven't seen!!

Ben 3 out of 10
Barry 3 out of 10

http://www.thedanceflick.com/

Labels:

Sunday, August 09, 2009

The Proposal Film Review

We were getting a bit desperate for something to see, so as this was the only semi-decent thing on, we tried it! It was a slightly slow predictable rom-com. Bullock was good as the uber-bossy boss, who is about to be deported to Canada, so she blackmails Reynolds into marrying her. After a long weekend in Alaska, not particularly liking each other, guess what happens?? Way too obvious rom-com, but semi-enjoyable.

Ben 6 out of 10
Barry 6 out of 10

http://www.theproposalmovie.co.uk/

Labels:

Thursday, August 06, 2009

G.I. Joe Film Review

What do you get when you make a film about a plastic action figure? Not alot of plot, not alot of story, lots of silly gadgets and weapons and lots and lots of explosions!! Disengage brain, buy a big bucket of popcorn and let the action flow. This film must have cost loads to make, purely because it literally does not let up for the 2hrs its on. Great mindless summer movie!

Ben 7 out of 10
Barry 8 out of 10

http://www.gijoemovie.com/

Labels:

Thursday, July 23, 2009

Hangover Film Review

What happens when 4 guys goto Vegas for a stag night, do drugs and lose their memory? They lose the groom of course! Then spend the rest of the movie trying to remember their crazy night of antics. Had heard good things about this film and they were right! Very amusing throughout, with loads of weird things going on in 12hrs, even the credits manage to amuse, by flashing up pictures from the night, fillling in even more of the story mentioned in the film. Recommended if you need a good laugh.

Ben 7 out of 10
Barry 7 out of 10

http://hangovermovie.warnerbros.com/

Labels:

Friday, July 17, 2009

Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince Film Review

People who have read the book have said that the movie is almost exactly the same. In that case the book must have been long winded, boring and slow too!! Blimey, what a long film this seemed, with very little going on, apart from setting up the two 7th films. Magic is overspilling into the muggle world, a plot against Dumbledor and the final build up to knocking off Voldermort. This film is probably OK if you are a Harry Potter nut, otherwise go see one of the other summer blockbusters.


Ben 6 out of 10
Barry 4 out of 10

http://harrypotter.warnerbros.co.uk/

Labels:

Friday, July 10, 2009

Brüno Film Review

Or to give it the full title - Brüno: Delicious Journeys Through America for the Purpose of Making Heterosexual Males Visibly Uncomfortable in the Presence of a Gay Foreigner in a Mesh T-Shirt! Absolutely hilarious throughout!! Completely silly story, strung together with mini tongue-in-cheek interviews that Sacha Baron Cohen is so good at. Exposing the bigoted homophobic bible belt American states similar to Borat. A "straight camp" counsellor comes of worse, as do the audience at an Alabama wrestling match gone gay, and a chat show audience actually believes he swapped his baby for an iPod! Brüno certainly does it full film title proud, and you'll be laughing out loud all the way through!

Ben 8 out of 10
Barry 7 out of 10

http://www.thebrunomovie.com/

Labels:

Saturday, July 04, 2009

Ice Age 3 3D Film Review

Better than 2, but not as good as 1. The 3D effect is as impressive as ever. There seems to be an over abundance of characters and yet it still drags in parts. Luckily Scrat and Scrat-a add their usual inserts of comedy to brighten things up. The very normal voice talents of Romano and Latifa do little to liven the story along. Barry enjoyed this more than me, maybe I was in the wrong mood?

Ben 6 out of 10
Barry 7 out of 10

http://www.iceagemovie.com/

Labels:

Friday, June 19, 2009

Transformers 2 Film Review

The sequel to Michael Bay's Transformers, sees more Transformers, more explosions and even less story than the first one! There are certainly a lot more Transformers in this film, unfortunately you get the see very little of them and find out about them before they get blown up! Explosions, explosions everywhere, which is a shame, as I don't know if its because our Vue cinema screens are too big, or there is simply too much going on, but we both found it very hard to see what on earth was going on! The story is even lighter than the first one, find the big pointy weapon that blows the sun up first and defeat the ultimate pre-historic Decepticon bady. There is also loads of slapstick, which sits a bit uneasy with the action. The goofy mum/dad combo, the guy from Men in Black, and the two new goofy clown Transformers, hmmmmm. All in all though this is a complete brainless popcorn summer movie blow-up-athon!!

Ben 8 out of 10
Barry 8 out of 10

http://www.transformersmovie.com/

Labels:

Monday, June 08, 2009

Terminator Salvation Film Review

There has been much hype about this film, but equal amounts of dread. However believe the hype!! This film had everything, great action, superb effects, feeling of doom, a CGI Arnie!! The story is basic, they attack Skynet, but it moves along at a great pace with non-stop action. Loads of different terminators including flying machines, bikes, transformer size robots, T-600, T-800 and loads inbetween!! Needless to say this film is highly recommended.

Ben 9 out of 10
Barry 8 out of 10

http://terminatorsalvation.warnerbros.com/

Labels:

Monday, May 25, 2009

Night at the Museum 2 Film Review

Basically almost a carbon copy of NatM1, but in a bigger museum and with more things coming to life! Simple story with a race against time to restore the tablet so Stiller's friends don't get killed by the evil-yet-silly bady Kahmunrah. Safe, predictable fodder from Disney, but at times shows some great imagination, like the chase through the warehouse, where loads of things start popping to life!

Ben 7 out of 10
Barry 7 out of 10

http://www.nightatthemuseummovie.com/

Labels:

Thursday, May 14, 2009

Angels and Demons Film Review

A battle of religion vs. science and an ancient fued between the two. Corruption and infiltration in Vatican City. An excellent non-stop thriller, with fast moving clues, action and murder. Even better and more enjoyable than Da Vinci Code!!


Ben 8 out of 10
Barry 7 out of 10

http://www.angelsanddemons.com/

Labels:

Friday, May 08, 2009

Star Trek Film Review

When the first teaser trailers appeared for a reboot of Star Trek featuring the original crew, we weren't going to bother seeing this movie. However as more action orientated trailers came out we became more convinced. Finally we saw the film, and it probably has more action that the previous 10 films put together!! It lays the back story as to how the crew first met nicely and quickly and mixes in some great battles along the way. Barry thought it was overly wobble-cam, but I didn't notice it. Definitely want to see this again!

Ben 9 out of 10
Barry 9 out of 10

http://www.startrekmovie.com/

Labels:

Friday, May 01, 2009

Wolverine Film Review

If you are a reader of the comics, I've been informed that this story isn't entirely true. But as a non-comic reader I don't care! The story is good, the relationship between the brothers Wolverine and Sabretooth is well written and acted and shows how one goes good, the other bad. The story also ties up nicely with the X-Men films. The action is good, the mix of mutants it good and the baddy, even though killed off fairly quickly is also good! All round we enjoyed this film.

Ben 8 out of 10
Barry 8 out of 10

http://www.x-menorigins.com/

Labels:

Thursday, April 30, 2009

Crank 2 Film Review

How to summarise the follow up movie to the original's non-stop crazy action? Take it, multiply by 100, a new sex scene, loads of boob shots and Jason Statham's lack of a heart, and you have a pretty good idea!! Completely ridiculous, over the top, non-stop silly action. We thoroughly enjoyed this crazy film!

Ben 8 out of 10
Barry 8 out of 10

http://www.crankhighvoltage.com/

Labels:

Monday, April 13, 2009

Paul Blart Mall Cop Film Review

Another case of giving all the best gags away in the trailer, I wish film companies would stop doing this!! Blart falls for the weave stand lady, mall gets ambushed, Blart saves weave lady, chuck in few mild giggles. That pretty much sums up this very average film.


Ben 5 out of 10
Barry 4 out of 10

http://www.paulblartmallcop.com/

Labels:

Friday, April 10, 2009

Dragonball Evolution Film Review

Goku or "Geeku" as the bullies called him, is on a quest set by his recently departed grandfather to reunite the 7 dragonballs and send Piccolo back to his grave. Being a PG kiddies film though, we're not actually told how he came back, or what he is really after. Goku is joined by an annoying tech girl, who happens to have invented a dragonball detector. He also picks up the bullies girlfriend, as she happens to like fighting too. Average halmless Easter weekend film fodder.

Ben 6 out of 10
Barry 7 out of 10

http://www.dragonballevolutionmovie.co.uk/

Labels:

Sunday, April 05, 2009

Monsters vs. Aliens 3D Film Review

Another Dreamworks animation desperately trying to be Pixar, but not quite coming up to scratch. The closest Disney comparison is The Incredibles, and this just doesn't measure up. The story flows along nicely, but never really gets into full gear. Reese Witherspoon is wishy-washy as Susan, and the other monsters only make you smile once in a while. The 3D effect however is great, and for that it receives an extra point.

Ben 7 out of 10
Barry 7 out of 10

http://www.monstersvsaliens.com/

Labels:

Monday, March 30, 2009

Knowing Film Review

We went to see this film not "knowing" much about it! The film starts off 50 years in the past and certain exact predictions are made about the future. Nick Cage finds these predictions and what follows is a sci-fi thriller, twisting and turning, with some great CGI catastrophes. The film keeps you on the edge of your seat, and despite some glaringly obvious points that the director tries to make you believe are a mystery, we both thoroughly enjoyed this film.


Ben 8 out of 10
Barry 7 out of 10

http://knowing-themovie.com/

Labels:

Sunday, March 15, 2009

Bolt 3D Film Review

The first film from Disney under supervisor from new head honcho John Lasseter of Pixar fame, and it shows. Rumor of numerous re-writes and edits, this has removed much of the Disney-pap and instead replaced it with good Pixar storytelling. Chuck in some 3D digital projection, which was very effective, and you had a very enjoyable film with good characters, good story and a few laughs along the way.

Ben 7 out of 10
Barry 7 out of 10

http://disney.go.com/disneypictures/bolt/

Labels:

Sunday, March 08, 2009

Watchmen Film Review

The first "big" film of the year, based on a comic, with superheroes, should have been a stunner, but instead stuttered and stumbled all over the place. The story has an under lying US/Soviet streak set in the 80's with nuclear global meltdown as the plot threat. The heroes don't really seem to have any powers, are sometimes a bit twisted, and certainly earn the film its 18 certificate in certain scenes! A very dark film that didn't really get going and not thrilling us in any particular way.


Ben 6 out of 10
Barry 5 out of 10

http://watchmenmovie.warnerbros.com/

Labels:

Sunday, February 22, 2009

Push Film Review

The poster and trailer for Push would have you believe this is some sort of X-Men action film, however Push is more of a mild mutant thriller. With people that can scream (screamers), scribble the future (scribblers), push objects (pushers), make the tea (teasmaids), etc... this is more of a slow burning thriller. While being pursued by "scribblers" Chris Evan and Dakota Fanning try to remain below the radar of a government agency after harvesting mutants and boosting their powers for military gain. An elaborate twisting and turning film unravels, with some good special effects and action pieces. Not quite an X-Men, but still good none the less.

Ben 7 out of 10
Barry 7 out of 10

Labels:

Saturday, January 03, 2009

The Spirit Film Review

What looked like an interesting film in the trailer, being created by the same person as Sin City (which we quite enjoyed) and filmed in the same style, we were sort of looking forward to this. However a very simple story, lacking much action, didn't really do much to entertain us. In fact the saving grace of the film was Samuel L. Jackson, who's role as "The Octopus" livend most of his scenes up. No real twists or turns, simple story made Barry almost fall asleep!

Ben 4 out of 10
Barry 5 out of 10

http://www.mycityscreams.com/

Labels:

Thursday, January 01, 2009

Film Reviews 2008

Have all been moved to our Film Reviews 2008 archive page.

Our top ten run down for 2008 was as follows:

1. Wall-E
2. Rambo 4
3. Dark Knight
4. Death Race
5. Indiana Jones 4
6. Transporter 3
7. Hancock
8. Incredible Hulk
9. Bucket List
10. Tropic Thunder

Our lemon, avoid at all costs, top three for 2008 was:

1. Balls of Fury
2. Be Kind Rewind
3. Inkheart

Labels: