Ben and Barry's Blog

Friday, January 1, 2010

Future Film Reviews - 2010 Onwards

All our future films reviews from 2010 onwards are continued on our new blog http://www.benandbarry.com

Labels:

Saturday, December 17, 2005

King Kong Film Review

At 3hrs this might sound like a long film, but it certainly didn't seem it. Dragged very slightly at the beginning while getting to the island, but once there and back in New York it didn't let up. Jack Black was only slightly annoying as the lead, but Naomi Watts was pretty convincing as Anne. There was also a fairly silly Jurassic Park bit in the middle. Apart from that the film was superb.

4.5 out of 5

http://www.kingkongmovie.com/

Labels:

Sunday, December 11, 2005

Narnia Film Review

Summed up as Disney's Lord of the Rings. Not quite as gritty or dark, and blood/stab free battles. Kids aren't too annoying, and all the mystical animals are well CGIed. Nice story, and not altered from the original. Good, but not quite as good at LofR.

4 out of 5

http://www.narnia.com/

Labels:

Friday, November 25, 2005

Day 9 - Rest & Zuthura

We were going to go to Typhoon Lagoon Water Park today, but Barry feeling a bit under the weather. So we're doing one last round of shopping, then catch Zuthura, which is from Jumanji writer, and turns out to be almost identical but set in space, fairly average and 2 out of 5.

To use up our Disney tickets we also goto Pleasure Island one last time.

Labels: ,

Tuesday, November 22, 2005

Day 6 - Day of Rest & Flightplan

We're both knackered, so as its sunny but windy we're having a lazy day. Bit of shopping, bit of swimming.

Went to Universal Boardwalk at night, saw Jodie Foster in "Flightplan". Very good film, made you think she was genuinely crazy, with a novel twist at the end. 4 out 5.

On the way to Boardwalk saw a very "friendly" xenophobic bumper sticker saying "Welcome to America. We speak english. Learn it or leave!"

Ate very late at Bennigans. Had our first burgers of the holiday, very nice. Had a slightly crazy waitress who was asked why they were open on Thanks Giving, and would we really be eating out there, and then also asked if we celebrated Thanks Giving in the UK - oops!

Labels: ,

Saturday, October 29, 2005

Wallace and Gromit Film Review

Well you knew this was going to be good, and we weren't disappointed. Very clever story, top notch animation, and theres loads of rabbits, what more could you want! Cracking film Gromit :-)

4.5 out of 5

http://www.wandg.com

Labels:

Saturday, August 20, 2005

Bewitched Film Review

I'm surprised that Nicole Kidman agreed to be in this pile of crap! She is wet and limp throughout, and Will Farrell is just plain annoying. Not funny in the slightest, and it seems to drag on for ages with a pointless remake of the TV show in the new movie. With the "actor" witch proclaiming she is a real witch and falling in love with her co-star. Zzzzzzzzzzzz.

1 out of 5

http://www.sonypictures.com/movies/bewitched/site/

Labels:

Sunday, August 14, 2005

The Island Film Review

The world has been irradicated, only a few people have survived, only one island has remaining unaffected, and is a prize for a lucky few to escape to, or is it? A very interesting and clever story set in the not too distant future about cloning and disposable people. I'm not going to spoil it too much, but this does ask some interesting questions about where we are going with cloning. Story sections and action are balanced well, although the action sequences are filmed a bit too close and wobbly, trying to be arty, but just end up being a bit of a blurry mess, which is a shame. The film also dragged in a few places and felt a little too long.

3 out of 5

http://www.theisland-themovie.com/

Labels:

Sunday, August 07, 2005

Stealth Film Review

Top Gun meets Team America, without the comedy. Pretty lame story, terrorists this and terrorists that (get over it!), plane gets AI, plane goes crazy, team try to destroy plane and get hurt, team lead double crossed by powers that be, has to team with AI plane to rescue friends. Zzzzzzzzzzzz. All pretty standard afair, fast and loud, story lacking and acting ropey all round. Ok if theres nothing else to see, but don't expect anything too exciting.

2 out of 5

http://www.sonypictures.com/movies/stealth/

Labels:

Charlie And The Chocolate Factory Film Review

Ummm, this film is a little bit weird to say the least, however it is very enjoyable and Johnny Depp is on form again. The film has been updated from the original, with bits of the old and a healthy mixture of new thrown in. The kids seem a bit surplus to requirement, with the main draw being Willy and the amazing set pieces. Even the ending has been altered to be more 21st century family oriented. Overall very enjoyable, and the Oompa-Loompas do sing!!

4 out of 5

http://www.chocolatefactorymovie.warnerbros.com

Labels:

Thursday, July 28, 2005

Dark Water Film Review

Never mind Dark Water, more like Dull as Dish Water. The little girl (Ariel Gade) was the saving grace of the film. It was drawn out, not scary, not full of suspense and felt about 30mins too long.

2 out of 5

http://darkwater.movies.go.com

Labels:

Saturday, July 23, 2005

Fantasic Four Film Review

Been looking forward to this for quite some time. Not because it stars Chris Evans, but because the clips look so intense. True to the comic, and quick to start, we get right to the accident that makes them stretchy, invisible, hot and hard! Followed up by their powers developing and an all out stunt sequence.

However this is where the film drops it a bit. Concentrating on the characters far too long, and spending just a bit too much time ith them trying to find a cure before the final showdown. Had there been one more action sequence in the film it would have been perfect. Bring on the sequal!

4 out of 5

http://www.apple.com/trailers/fox/fantastic_four/

Labels:

Friday, June 17, 2005

Batman Begins Film Review

Needed a break after all that was happeneing, so went to see the new Batman.

After the mess of the forth installment, this refresh of the franchise was literally a breath of fresh air. Christian Bale is perfect Batman (except for the silly voice he puts on when hes the Dark Knight). Michael Caine was also the perfect Alfred.

Good action sequences. Just enough story. Ropey, but OK plot. Good gadgets, stunts and even a great lookin' Bat Mobile.

4 out of 5

http://www.batmanbegins.com

Labels: